My First Tale of Inspiration

Hello World and All Those Who Inhabit It!

I promised I would be back for more and here I am! Am I an enthusiastic newcomer or a glutton for punishment? Stay tuned to find out!

Alright enough with the exclamation points. I decided to write about inspiration because at times it can be helpful and at times it can disappear into a closet never to be seen again. So I thought that maybe writing down past or current inspirational sources can help to search for those ones still hiding in the back of the closet. My first story is about my inspiration to start writing. I figure its a good place to start and its still relatively fresh in my mind.So here it goes.

When I was younger I never really liked to read. I would even shy away from reading the school cafeteria menu if it meant that I didn’t have to read something. They tried to force feed me books in school like everyone else and I think that almost made it worse because I wasn’t reading for the fun of it. I was reading because some grumpy old lady told me that I better read the book OR ELSE!!

Anyway, everything changed when a certain novel was published about a boy wizard who had a horrible aunt and uncle, and was shipped off to a magical boarding school. If you don’t know what I’m talking about I’m sorry that you were deprived of such literary excellence.     

So I started reading the first book. Then the next one came out (blew my mind at the time because I didn’t know books had sequels), and then I read the one after that and so on and so forth. Eventually I came to the idea that “wait a minute! Books are awesome!” I started reading more and more books on every topic from non fiction to the weirdest fiction with superpowers and aliens.

It took me a couple years to really develop an interest in writing. When I really started writing my bookshelf was overflowing and sagging in different areas from the weight of all the books that I had collected and read. From all of these books across every different genre is where I found my inspiration for writing. When you read that much you find those special books. The ones that make you question who you are; the ones that blow your mind. This is my inspiration. I want to write a book that has that kind of reaction in people. One that leaves people lying awake at night thinking and wondering about a story that I created. This is what keeps me going, keeps me writing, and keeps me inspired.

With High Regards,

Anonymous 

One thought on “My First Tale of Inspiration

  1. Pingback: Inspiration | iloveclair

Leave a Reply

